Wood Lexicon Betterwood Technical terms

durability classes

Also referred to as resistance or durability, is usually according to the standard DIN EN 350-2 determined. Here the resistance to insects, fungi and harmful substances, which increase the rotting of the wood, is tested. The classification is from class 1 (very durable) to class 5 (not durable). Class 1 wood (e.g. cumaru or teak) has a life expectancy of more than 25 years under moderate climatic conditions. Class 3 wood (such as Bangkirai) has a life expectancy of up to 15 years. Class 5 wood (e.g. beech) has a life expectancy of less than five years (see: wood species comparison).


Here you will find an overview of what the resistance class says about the lifespan of wood outdoors:



Types of wood

1 = very persistent

at least 25 years

Teak, cumaru

1-2 = very persistent

at least 20 years

Jatoba, Garapa

2 = permanent

15 to 25 years

Bongossi, Bangkirai

3 = moderately durable

10 to 15 years

Siberian larch, Douglas fir

4 = not very durable

5 to 10 years


5 = not permanent

less than 5 years

Maple, birch, beech

starting from 6,00 

excl. Shipping

ab 11,85 

excl. Shipping


excl. Shipping